City Commission Worksession Minutes 04-11-2011

View the PDF version Google Docs PDF Viewer

                                  CITY OF MUSKEGON
                            CITY COMMISSION WORKSESSION

                                    Monday, April 11, 2011
                                          5:30 p.m.
                                  City Commission Chambers


Present:   Mayor Warmington, Vice Mayor Gawron, Commissioners Spataro, Wierengo,
           Wisneski, and Shepherd.
Absent:    Carter.

Ballot Proposal Presentation – John McGarry.
John McGarry of the Lakeshore Museum Center made a presentation of the upcoming May 3,
2011 renewal of the .325 millage and benefits the museum offers the community.
City Cell Phone Contract.
Beth Lewis, Assistant Finance Director, presented a request to approve the staff recommendation
to use Verizon as the City’s cell phone carrier. All rates quoted are from the State of Michigan
contract. Verizon has proposed no upfront fees, many options for free equipment and no
contract. Additionally staff is recommending the use of smart phones with data packages for
employees whose job efficiency can be improved by access to their City email, calendars and
other online information while in the field or on call. Employees opting to utilize a smart phone
will share in the cost by reimbursing the City $15 per month for the service.
This request will be considered by the City Commission at its April 12, 2011 Commission
Boards and Committees.
During the goal setting session discussion took place to eliminate some boards and committees to
reduce staffing requirements.
Main Motion:
Motion by Commissioner Spataro, seconded by Commissioner Shepherd to eliminate the
Equal Opportunity Committee, Hospital Finance Authority, Loan Fund Advisory
Committee, and Public Relations Committee.
Motion by Commissioner Wierengo, seconded by Commissioner Wisneski to retain the
Public Relations Committee.
Vote on Sub-Motion:
Ayes: Wierengo, Wisneski, and Shepherd.
Nays: Gawron, Spataro, and Warmington.
                                                                   MOTION DEFEATED.
Vote on main motion:
Ayes: Gawaron, Shepherd, Spataro, Warmington, Wierengo, Wisneski.
Nays: None.
                                                         MOTION PASSES.
Motion by Mayor Warmington, second by Commissioner Shepherd to adjourn at 6:10 p.m.
                                                         MOTION PASSES

                                                    Ann Marie Becker, MMC
                                                         City Clerk

Top of Page

Sign up for City of Muskegon Emails